Above are the 2018 Community Service Scholarship winners: (left to right) Andy Tlatelpa, Ashley Hart, Zenita Davis, and Emerson Gonzalez.

Scholarships to Local Students

Every year the Park Slope Civic Council awards a Scholarship for Community Service to one college-bound high school senior from each of the four secondary schools at the John Jay Educational Complex who exemplify significant community and volunteer service. The schools included in the award process are Park Slope Collegiate, The Secondary School for Law, The Secondary School for Journalism, and Millennium Brooklyn High School.

The scholarship award harkens back to the days of the Manual Training High School (now the John Jay Educational Complex) in the early 1960’s, when the Civic Council would present one or two modest awards of a few hundred dollars each. In subsequent years, the scholarship sponsorships were funded and awarded in the names of Rosemarie and Francis Kazeroid, Mary Laverne Allman, and Evelyn and Everett Ortner. In the last decade, the Civic Council has increased the scholarship award amount 1000% to $2500.00 per recipient, due to generous pledges from sponsors, civic council members, as well as from proceeds from the Civic Council’s annual food and drink tasting event, Food For Thought.

The scholarships are awarded every June at the Civic Council’s general membership meeting. School staff, administrators, parents and families are invited to attend and share in this proud and moving event. View video now.

Past and present scholarship recipients have written and returned to trustee meetings to express their gratitude for the contributions the Civic Council has made in helping them meet their college expenses. Additionally, the scholarship program has had a positive impact on the Park Slope communities’ relationship with everybody in the John Jay Educational Complex, which has engendered an ongoing link between school and community. The scholarship awards offer all of us the opportunity to connect in a most rewarding way.

E-mail the committee at to help with this important work.

Photo by Joe Rydell

Read all posts in this section